6 celebrity memoirs you can listen to for free with Audible

Our team is dedicated to finding and telling you more about the products and deals we love. If you love them too and decide to purchase through the links below, we may receive a commission. Pricing and availability are subject to change. 

There is something inherently intriguing about cracking open a celebrity biography or memoir; getting a glimpse into their personal thoughts and musings feels like pulling back the curtain on their life.

If you find yourself constantly wanting to learn more about your favorite celebrities, you can listen to their life stories for free when you try Audible, Amazon’s audiobook platform. When you take advantage of the service’s 30-day free trial, your first audiobook of any kind is free of charge and you can cancel your membership at any time.

However, if you are just as interested in celeb memoirs as we are, keep scrolling for a few recommendations of audiobooks that we’ve deemed as “must-listens.”

1. “Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood” By Trevor Noah

Credit: Amazon

Known most widely as the host of “The Daily Show,” Trevor Noah is many things including a comedian, writer and political commentator. In this audiobook, Noah “tells his wild coming-of-age tale during the twilight of apartheid in South Africa.”

2. “Open Book: A Memoir” By Jessica Simpson

Credit: Amazon

A No. 1 best seller on the New York Times list, Jessica Simpson’s “Open Book” tells the story of the entertainer’s multi-decade career and personal life. From her childhood abuse to her struggles with addiction, Simpson’s memoir is eye-opening and brutally honest.

3. “The Last Black Unicorn” By Tiffany Haddish

Credit: Amazon

“The Last Black Unicorn” is a collection of autobiographical essays from comedian and actress Tiffany Haddish. From her upbringing in L.A. to making her way in the entertainment industry, these essays will make you laugh and cry.

4. “The Answer Is…: Reflections on My Life” By Alex Trebek

Credit: Amazon

The beloved host of the game show Jeopardy, Alex Trebek’s memoir “combines illuminating personal anecdotes with Trebek’s thoughts on a range of topics, including marriage, parenthood, education, success, spirituality and philanthropy.”

5. “Greenlights” By Matthew McConaughey

Credit: Amazon

Academy-award winning actor Matthew McConaughey has been keeping journals about his life for over 30 years and “Greenlights” gives readers a taste of those entries. According to the author, this book is “a love letter. To life. It’s also a guide to catching more greenlights – and to realizing that the yellows and reds eventually turn green, too.”

6. “Yes Please” By Amy Poehler

Credit: Amazon

Fans of “SNL” and “Parks and Rec” will adore Amy Poehler’s hilarious book “Yes Please.” Plus, listeners will also get to hear “vocal appearances from Carol Burnett, Seth Meyers, Michael Schur, Patrick Stewart, Kathleen Turner and even Amy’s parents.”

Interested in trying out Audible? Get a free first month here and start listening.

Looking for more audiobook recommendations? Here are 5 books ITK editors loved.

More from In The Know:

Subscribe to our daily newsletter to stay In The Know

We have an exclusive promo code this best-selling silk pillowcase

Amazon’s best-selling seat cushion has done wonders for my bum while WFH

This cordless vacuum is just as good as Dyson’s but cheaper