NASA, a Libra, reveals there are more than 12 zodiac signs

Horoscope devotees have been rocked by a NASA report stating that there are up to 21 zodiacal constellations total — not just the 12.

A post about a 13th zodiac sign, Ophiuchus, was published by NASA in January 2016, but now it’s suggested that we’re ignoring many, many more.

The concept of zodiac signs originates from the Babylonians 3,000 years ago, in an attempt to better understand the planet. NASA speculates based on stories that the group split the sky up into 12 sections to mimic the 12 seasons, even though they were fully aware of the existence of Ophiuchus.

The post itself debunks astrology right off the bat — obviously, the writer behind it has not downloaded The Pattern or turned on notifications for Co-Star — and explained that Babylonians only picked 12 signs out of convenience.

Writer Phil Plait wrote a frustrated article in response to the initial backlash to the 2016 NASA post, saying that NASA really hasn’t discovered anything new.

“The article — well worth your time to read — talks about how the zodiac constellations are defined, and how, over time, they’ve changed,” Plait wrote in a 2016 New Scientist article. “Apparently, someone didn’t read it very carefully, or didn’t understand it, and wrote that NASA had changed the zodiac. So, yeah. Wow.”

So for now, everyone can relax. Except for Scorpios and Geminis, who unfortunately are still Scorpios and Geminis.

Not a fan of zodiac signs? Find out what your Myers-Briggs personality type says about you.

More from In The Know:

This theory reveals whether you’re actually a good person

This $15 Lodge cast iron skillet has over 15,000 5-star reviews on Amazon

This amazing tiny house features a smart mirror

These candles look and smell like delicious cheesecake

Listen to the latest episode of our pop culture podcast, We Should Talk: